Accepting Project Updates

Starting in the 2021-2022 academic year, Base Curriculum updates will be scheduled on just two dates in August and in December. This makes it easier for you to know exactly when projects need updating so that you can plan accordingly. Keeping projects updated ensures that you’re using the highest-quality, latest versions of the base curriculum and prevents you from running into broken links or outdated resources.

In this article, you can find:

  • More Detailed Information on summit learning’s new strategy for releasing updates 
  • How to accept project updates

For information on why we recommend accepting updates, click here

 

Project Update Day: What it is and What it means for you 

Starting with the 2021-2022 academic year, projects within the Base Curriculum will only be updated two days a year. These two days are called Update Days. There is an Update Day in the August before the fall semester and an Update Day in December before the spring semester.

  • If the Summit Learning Curriculum Team has made updates to a project within a course you are teaching, on Update Day, you will be able to review a list of all the content that has been added, removed, or tweaked within the project.
  • If you have not made any personal customizations to the project yourself and you have not opted out of receiving automatic updates, on Update Day, we will update your project automatically for you and you will be sure to have the most up-to-date project content.
  • If you have made personal customizations to the project, we will not automatically update your project and, on Update Day, you will have the option to review the list of changes we have made to the project in the Base Curriculum. You can then decide if you want to update your project to the Base Curriculum’s most up-to-date version, which will override any personal customizations you have made, or if you want to manually incorporate the Summit Learning Curriculum Team’s updates into your project.

The Update Day in August will affect projects in the first semester and second semester sequence in the Base Curriculum course.

The Update Day in December will only affect projects in the second semester, following the sequence in the Base Curriculum course.

 

Accepting Project Updates 

In this section of the article, you will find instructions on how to:

  • View automatic updates for projects 
  • Revert an automatically updated project to its previous version
  • Turn on or turn off automatic updates for projects
  • Accept or Decline Project Updates

View Automatic Project Updates 

Non-customized projects from the 2021-2022 Base Curriculum will receive automatic updates. To view updates made to non customized projects from the 2021 Base Curriculum: 

  1. Click on a course from your list of courses or from the Curriculum page
  2. Click on a project that you have not customized from the Base Curriculum
  3. At the top of the Project page, you will see a banner that reads “this project has been updated to the latest version.” 
  4. Click on the button in the banner that reads “see what’s been updated”

Screen_Shot_2021-07-30_at_4.17.58_PM.png

 

NEW: What’s Been Added, Removed, and Tweaked Pop Up

The changes made to a project will be shown in a new pop up designed to clearly indicate what has been added to a project, removed from a project, and slightly tweaked in a  project. 

To access the new page: 

  1. Click on a course from your list of courses or from the Curriculum page
  2. Click on a project that you have not customized from the Base Curriculum
  3. At the top of the Project page, you will see a banner that reads “this project has been updated to the latest version.” 
  4. Click on the button in the banner that reads “see what’s been updated”
  5. A pop up window titled “why automatic curriculum updates” will appear, within this window, select “see updates” button (shown below)
    Screen_Shot_2021-07-30_at_4.22.10_PM.png
  6. View what has been added, what has been removed, and what has been tweaked by using the “next” and “previous” buttons  

Revert an Updated Project to its Previous Version 

Teachers will have the ability to revert the updates made to a project if they would like. We highly recommend using the latest versions of projects available in our base curriculum. Learn why here.

 

To revert a project: 

  1. Navigate to the “what’s been tweaked” page within the “What’s Been Added, Removed, and Tweaked” pop up 
  2. Click “revert updates” (shown below)whats_been_tweaked.png
    Screen_Shot_2021-07-30_at_4.23.48_PM.png
  3. Confirm you want to revert updates by selecting the “restore archived version” button on the next page
  4. You will then be directed to the project page, and will receive a green pop up message on the bottom left confirming that your project has been reverted to the previous version (shown below)older_version_confirm.png

Turn on or turn off automatic updates for projects

To turn on automatic updates for a project within a course that already exists:  

  1. Click on a course from your list of courses or from the Curriculum page
  2. Select edit course 
  3. Select “settings” at the top right
  4. Within the course settings modal, click on the “Auto accept updates” toggle to turn it on (shown below)

Teachers can also turn on automatic updates for projects within a new course they are creating. To do so:

  1. Click into the curriculum tab
  2. Select courses
  3. Select “add course” at the top right
  4. Within the “Add a New Course” modal, click on the “Auto accept updates” toggle to turn it on (shown below)
    Screen_Shot_2021-07-12_at_5.34.40_PM.png

Teachers will have the ability to opt out of automatic updates. To turn off automatic updates for a project:

  1. Click on a course from your list of courses or from the Curriculum page
  2. Select edit course 
  3. Select “settings” at the top right
  4. Within the course settings modal, click on the “Auto accept updates” toggle to turn it off. (shown below)
    Screen_Shot_2021-07-12_at_5.30.17_PM.png

Accept or Decline Automatic Updates 

Teachers will have the ability to accept or decline updates for customized projects. To do so:

  1. When there are updates for projects, you will see an orange banner at the top of the project page indicating that curriculum updates are available for the project (shown below)review_upadtes_accept_updates.png
  2. Click the “View Updates” button within the orange banner. 
  3. A popup explaining why updates occur on the platform will appear. Click “Review updates” button within this pop (shown below)why_update.png
  4. View the updates in the “what has been changed, removed, and tweaked” pop up window that appears. 
  5. On the “what’s been tweaked” page, you can choose to accept all updates or not to update now using the buttons on the page. (shown below)whats_been_tweaked.png
    1. When you choose to "accept all updates", you will be directed to the project page where the updated version will be displayed, and a green confirmation pop up message will appear at the bottom left of your screen confirming that the project has been updated. (shown below)current_version_confirm.png
    2. When you choose "don't update now":
      1. Confirm you want to decline updates by selecting the “decline anyway” button on the next page. (shown below)are_you_sure_decline.png
      2. You will then be directed to a survey page where you will be asked to submit feedback on curriculum updates for the platform. (shown below)survey.png
Was this article helpful?
7 out of 8 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request.