How are Additional Focus Areas graded?

Additional Focus Areas (AFAs) are a set of extension focus areas designed to allow students to dive deeper into key content knowledge areas during the school year. To read more about how Additional Focus Areas will be graded in the 2019-2020 school year, please click here

  • Additional Focus Areas constitute 9% of a student's overall grade. To determine the grade value of each Additional Focus Area, divide the 9 percentage points available by the number of Additional Focus Areas.
    • If there is only one AFA, it will be worth 9% of the overall grade.
    • If there are two AFAs, each will be worth 4.5% of the overall grade.
    • If there are three AFAs, each will be worth 3% of the overall grade.
    • If there are nine AFAs, each will be worth 1% of the overall grade.
  • Unlike Power Focus Areas, students aren’t required to master all Additional Focus Areas to pass a course; failure to complete one or more Additional Focus Areas will not generate an ‘incomplete’ grade for a student.
    • However, there is a grade penalty for each incomplete Additional Focus Area. The highest grade a student can receive in a course without passing any Additional Focus Areas is 91% (out of 100%).
    • Parents, mentors and teachers may want to remind students that they will lose overall grade points if they do not complete all their Additional Focus Areas.

Important Grading Notes about Additional Focus Areas

  • If any student does not complete his or her first AFA by the time the blue line crosses it on the year page, the platform will remove the 9 percentage points. This means that student’s grade may drop by 9 percentage points on a single day, but will jump back up when he or she completes the missing AFA.
  • On the last day of the school year, if the final AFA is not completed, students will lose additional points on their final overall grade. The number of points lost depends on the total number of AFAs in the course.
    • At the start of each school year, the platform will grant the 9% constituted by Additional Focus Areas to each students’ grade automatically. Over the course of the year, if students do notcomplete Additional Focus Areas on pace, the points will be removed from the students’ overall grade.
Was this article helpful?
11 out of 16 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request.