Using project plans

This article will cover how to pace and plan your projects using the plans tab: 


How do I add agendas to my Projects in the Plans Tab?

The Plans tab allows you to work from agendas (either from the Base Curriculum or your own) to help with Project pacing and planning. Each project is broken down into Days, which contain their own agenda items.

To access the Plans tab:

  1. Go to a Project
  2. Click Plans to the right of Overview

Using_Project_Plans_1.png

The first time you open a Project and view the Plans, you will be viewing the Shared Plans that everyone from your school sees. In order to modify the Plans for your own class, you will need to make your own copy of the Plans using the dropdown in the upper right. This creates a personal copy of the Project agenda for yourself that you can customize without affecting other teachers.

Using_Project_Plans_2.png

 

To make Plans visible to students, you must first make your own copy of the Plans using the dropdown in the upper right. Once you have created a personal copy, select the Shared to Students checkbox at the top of each Day you would like to share:

Using_Project_Plans_3.png

 

Note: Sharing Plans with students does not allow students to view each description within an agenda item. You can add student-facing notes to Student Notes at the bottom of the Plans. 

 

To add a Day:

  1. Click Organize/Add below the list of Days on the left
  2. Select Add Day
  3. (Optional) Title each Day. They will be titled Day 1, Day 2, etc. by default

To rearrange or remove Days:

  1. Click Organize/Add below the list of Days on the left
  2. To organize Days into a different order, click and hold the three dots ⋮ to the right of the Day you'd like to move and drag the Day to its new place
  3. To remove a Day, click the ✕ to the right of the Day you'd like to delete

To add an agenda item:

  1. Click Add Agenda Item
  2. Title the agenda
  3. Add a description
  4. Designate how many minutes students should spend on this item
  5. Select a Project component (Checkpoint, Final Product) to focus on
  6. Toggle whether students should collaborate on the activity
  7. Select whether students or teachers will lead the activity

To edit an agenda item:

  1. To the right of the agenda item, click Edit
  2. To delete the agenda, click Delete in the lower left

To add student-facing or teacher-facing notes:

Using_Project_Plans_3.5.png

  1. Click Edit next to the section you want
  2. Type the notes then Save

How do I assign resources and activities to students from the Plans tab?

Teachers can tag Activities and Resources for specific groups of students created in the Learners tab. These scaffolds or challenges can then be assigned specifically to these groups of students directly from the Plans tab.

Note that resource tags can only be added by Curriculum Authors. 

To tag an Activity or Resource for a specific group:

Using_Project_Plans_GIF_1.gif

  1. Click Edit Project
  2. Select Activities and Resources from the left menu
  3. Click on the title of the Activity or Resource
  4. Click Add a Tag under Who Gets This Activity/Resource?
  5. Select your tag and Close

To assign an Activity or Resource to a group of students:

Using_Project_Plans_GIF_2.gif

  1. Navigate to the Project's Plans tab
  2. Activities and Resources with tags will have a hand symbol mceclip2.png
  3. Click Assign to the right of the Activity or Resource title
  4. If a Learner's group exists for the tag, those students will be assigned by default. You can customize the assignment by checking the boxes next to student names
  5. Click Save

How do I recopy my Plans?

After you've made a personal copy of the Shared Plans, if changes are made to the Shared Plans that you'd like reflected in My Plans:

  1. On the Plans tab, click on the dropdown menu in the upper right that says My Plans
  2. In the menu that appears, select Replace My Plans with Shared Plans

Using_Project_Plans_4.png

Note that recopying Plans from the Shared Plans will replace your personal copy and any changes you've made to your personal Plans will not be saved.

 

If you have personal Plans from a previous copy of the project, you will see an additional option to Re-use My Plans. This will copy over your previous personal Plans to the current project.

Using_Project_Plans_5.png

Note that reusing Plans from a previous project will replace your current personal Plans and any changes you've made to your personal Plans prior to reusing your previous Plans will not be saved.

 


What do the icons in the Project Plans mean? 

plans_icon.png

Was this article helpful?
9 out of 13 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request.