How does grading in math work?

The math grade has three components: Focus Areas (30%), Cognitive Skills (30%), and concepts (40%). Focus Areas work the same as they do in other courses: the 30% of the total grade breaks down further into 21% for Power Focus Areas and 9% for Additional Focus Areas. The Cognitive Skills also work like they do in other courses: teachers score Projects on the Cognitive Skills Rubric, and those scores translate to a Cognitive Skills average, which makes up 30% of the grade. Concepts are unique to math courses: performance tasks are scored on the concept rubric, and those scores translate to a concept average, which makes up 40% of the grade. For all math courses, the concept rubric is ranged from 1-5, where 3=passing and 5=100%.

Was this article helpful?
17 out of 34 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request.



Please sign in to leave a comment.