Focus Area and Content Assessment Grading

Students show mastery of content knowledge in a course by passing Content Assessments in both Power and Additional / Challenge Focus Areas.

  • Power Focus Areas are the core content that we expect every student to learn before completing a course to be college ready.
    • Students must pass ALL Power Focus Areas to pass a course.
  • To deepen one’s knowledge and improve their grades, students are encouraged to learn the concepts in Additional and/or Challenge Focus Areas.  
    • Additional Focus Areas are NOT required to complete a course, but they count towards a student’s final grade.
    • Challenge Focus Areas do NOT count towards a student’s grade.

Focus Area Grading Breakdown

Student demonstrate mastery of a Focus Area by passing a Content Assessment (CA) for that Focus Area. Passing Content Assessments make up 30% of a student's grade. This is split between Power Focus Areas (worth 21%) and Additional Focus Areas (worth 9%).

Passing Content Assessments

A content assessment is a 10 question assessment from a large bank of questions that tests students' understanding of the knowledge. Students can take CAs multiple times, so that they are motivated to learn the knowledge even if they didn’t on their first try and are rewarded when they finally do.


Students must answer 8 out of 10 questions (receive an 80%) on a Content Assessment (CA) to pass. 

If a student passes a CA, he/she receives full credit for that Focus Area.

Power vs. Additional Focus Areas

Students must pass ALL Power Focus Areas’ CAs to pass a class.

Students do not need to pass Additional Focus Areas to pass a class, but the highest grade they can earn is 91% without passing them. Unlike with Power Focus Areas where your student must pass all of them to receive full credit, your student can get incremental grade increases with each Additional Focus Areas he/she passes. For example, if a student passes 100% of their Additional Focus areas then he/she will receive all 9 points for Additional Focus Areas. If he/she passes 50% of them, then he/she will only receive 9*50% = 4.5 points.

Focus Areas in Grades Tab

In the Grades tab, you will see the projected number of Focus Areas that your student is on pace to complete for the year. For example, 9/9 means that the student is on pace to complete 9 out of 9 Focus Areas. If a student is on pace to complete all of his/her Focus Areas, then he/she will receive a 100% score. The projection is based on how many content assessments a student has passed so far versus how many we expected them to pass at this time.

The number of passed Power Focus Areas (ones that are green in the This Year tab) needs to be at or ahead of the pacing line in the This Year page. If a student is NOT on PACE to pass all Power Focus Areas, he/she will have an Incomplete for the course. Your student can change that by passing enough Focus Areas to be at or ahead of the pacing line.


Was this article helpful?
12 out of 24 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.