What are real-time notifications?
Real-time notifications provide teachers and students with instant updates whenever other students or other teachers take actions that they should know about. The feature lives in the lower left of the screen alongside the avatar image.
What notifications are supported?
Teachers can receive real-time notifications when students request feedback on a checkpoint, submit a final or draft Project, create a new note or when another teacher provides observation feedback.
Students can receive real-time notifications when teachers provide checkpoint feedback, score a Project, approve or deny a Content Assessment or write a note on their progress page.
How do notifications get marked as read?
Notifications can be marked as read by clicking on the blue circle to the right of the notification or by just clicking on the notification. This will update the notification count in the lower right. If you click on checkpoints with new requests on the Project page, the notification will automatically be marked as read so you don't need to mark it read as again. If you give feedback on a checkpoint or score a Project, the notification will be automatically hidden since you don't need to see requests you’ve already taken action on. When a notification is marked as read, it's still available in the Seen Notifications section at the bottom of the notification list. Notifications are automatically deleted after 10 days.
Does this stay up-to-date between tabs?
Yes, if you receive new notifications or mark notifications as read or unread, this will be reflected in all tabs instantly, so you should always see the same unread notifications on every page?
How are notifications aggregated together?
When you receive an individual notification, it gets combined with other unread notifications that link to the same page. So if three students request feedback on a checkpoint, you'll just see one notification displays all three names and links to that checkpoint.